Accomplished Gretna Criminal Defense Firm Advocates for Clients’ Rights
Seasoned lawyers aid Louisiana residents charged with DWIs and other misdemeanor and felony crimes
When you’re facing a criminal prosecution, having a skilled defense attorney on your side can make a difference in the outcome of your case. Since 1980, The Colvin Law Firm in Gretna has stood up for the rights of individuals charged with driving while intoxicated, drug offenses, domestic violence and other misdemeanor and felony crimes. With years of experience working in Louisiana’s criminal justice system, our diligent attorneys will carefully review all the facts and evidence in your case to determine the best strategy for obtaining a favorable outcome.
Respected legal firm advises clients in misdemeanor and felony matters
We provide a skilled and thorough defense for any type or degree of criminal charge you may be facing.
Felonies are crimes punishable by more than a year in prison and potential hard labor. Violent crimes like murder, manslaughter, rape and first-degree robbery are felonies, as are thefts of large amounts of money or property. Substantial fines, victim restitution and other penalties may be ordered in addition to imprisonment.
Misdemeanors can be punished by up to a year in jail and $2,500 in fines. Examples of these crimes are battery, criminal trespass and assault. Certain misdemeanors can be elevated to felonies for repeat offenders.
If you have been arrested or otherwise accused of a crime, you need to act quickly to protect your rights. Once retained as your counsel, we swiftly move into action to discover the evidence against you and the facts that will help us build a strong case for reduced charges or acquittal.
Experienced attorneys counsel people charged with DWI
Louisiana has strict penalties when it comes to DWI/DUI or driving under the influence of drugs. You face the following penalties if convicted:
- First offense — A fine of $300 to $1,000 and jail time between 10 days and six months.
- Second offense — A fine of $750 to $1,000 and jail time between 30 days and six months.
- Third offense — A fine of $2,000 and imprisonment between one and five years.
- Fourth offense — If you are convicted of a fourth DWI within 10 years, you may be fined $5,000 and imprisoned between 10 and 30 years.
Vehicle seizures and other penalties and requirements may also be imposed, including required installation of ignition interlock devices.
Immediately upon a DWI arrest, your driver’s license will be confiscated and you have only 15 days to request an administrative hearing to ask for reinstatement, so it is important to seek legal counsel right away. We will make the strongest case possible for keeping your license and obtaining the most lenient treatment available under the circumstances. We also assist clients in having DWIs removed from their record after Louisiana’s 10-year “washout period.”
Contact an experienced Gretna law firm for a free initial consultation
For nearly four decades, the Colvin Law Firm has defended Louisiana residents charged with crimes. To schedule a free consultation, call our Gretna office at 504-517-9809 or contact us online.